St John the Baptist Catholic Primary School developed from the vision of Father John Smith and Mr John Crabbe, a Texan entrepreneur, who selected the land on which St John’s now stands.


The Gooreng Gooreng people are the traditional owners of the land upon which St John’s has been established.


Construction work on St John's commenced in late 1975 and by 1977 the school was ready for the first intake of students. St John’s was established as a response to the city’s anticipated industrial and population growth.


On the 5 August 1977, Senator David MacGibbin officially opened St John the Baptist Catholic Primary School and Rev. Bishop Wallace of Rockhampton gave the formal blessing. St John’s was the second Catholic Primary School in the Parish of Gladstone.

In 1977, with enrolments of 111 students, school commenced with classes catering for Years 1, 3, 4 and 7.


By 1979 the school conducted all grades from Years 1 to 7.


The first Principal was Sr Margaret Cummins, a Marist sister. The sisters were a presence until 1985 and since 1986 the school has been staffed by lay people.


From the year 2000 and beyond, St John’s has maintained a student population of 450 to 500 students and over 50 staff.  As the school grows, staff, students and parents alike have concentrated on maintaining a welcoming, small-community feel through our open door policy, our belief in shared partnerships and strong relationships throughout our whole school community.